Other Voices

11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_TheWallsScreamedPoetry_*

Guest_TheWallsScreamedPoetry_*
  • Registered Users

Posted 27 October 2005 - 02:10 PM

Other Voices was released 34 years ago at the end of October US and November UK to critical acclaim but sadly to complete disinterest by mainstream Doors fans making the very lower reaches of the charts here in the UK and also a poor showing in the US.
Shame really as it had some damn good songs on it Eye Of The Sun, Wandering Musician and Ships w/Sails as well as the best ever tribute to Jim in Ray's superb Tightrope Ride. The musicianship on display was exceptional and Ray's bluesy vocal style although no match for what had gone before was more than passable.
Be nice to see this album and its follow up get the recognition it deserves in the Doors world.....I have been listening to it since November 1971 and I love this album...my seventh fave Doors album!
:cheers:

#2 All we did was die...

All we did was die...

• Members
  • 1,958 posts

Posted 27 October 2005 - 02:25 PM

34 years ago this month, eh?

Other things that happened during October 1971:
October 1 - Walt Disney World opens.
October 21 - President Nixon nominated Lewis Franklin Powell, Jr. and William H. Rehnquist to the U.S. Supreme Court.
October 21 - Gas explosion in Clarkston, Glasgow kills 20 people.
October 25 - The United Nations General Assembly admits the People's Republic of China and expels the Republic of China (on Taiwan).
October 27 - Democratic Republic of the Congo is renamed Zaire.
October 28 - British House of Commons votes in favour of joining the EEC by 356-244.
October 28 - The United Kingdom becomes the 6th nation to launch a satellite into orbit, the Prospero X-3.
October 29 - Vietnam War: Vietnamization - The total number of American troops still in Vietnam drops to a record low of 196,700 (lowest since January 1966)
October 30 - Rev. Ian Paisley's Democratic Unionist Party founded in Northern Ireland.